BHRS Cardiac Physiologist representation on Council

The cardiac physiologists on BHRS council represent the BHRS and cardiac physiology CRM interests at several meetings throughout the year, these include attendance at the National School of Healthcare Science (NSHCS) Physiological Sciences themed board, the Academy of Healthcare Science (AHCS) professional bodies council and the Improving Quality in Physiological Diagnostic Services (IQUIPS) board. Below is a brief summary of each organisation and names of current council representatives.

National School of Healthcare Science (NSHCS) themed board
The National School of Healthcare Science (NSHCS) is part of Health Education England (HEE) based in the West Midlands.  It is responsible for implementing the NHS healthcare science (HCS) training programmes and quality assures HCS training and delivery. For cardiac sciences this means they co-ordinate delivery of education and training for the practitioner (PTP), scientist (STP), higher specialist scientist (HSST) training programmes and for the newer apprenticeship route.

Cardiac sciences are one of several specialisms represented at the physiological sciences themed board.  The themed boards held three times a year provide a forum for a wide variety of stakeholders (representatives from professional bodies/groups, higher education institutes, employers and the Academy of Healthcare Science) to contribute to the approach, review and development of current training programmes. 

The BHRS represents the interests of BHRS members and the wider cardiac physiology workforce with respect to matters involving cardiac rhythm management.

The current BHRS representative on this board is Jason Collinson.
For more in depth information about the school, for information on careers in healthcare sciences, current programmes, curricula and for the latest news in HCS visit the NSHCS website

Relevant documents produced as part of the themed board attendance

BHRS workforce initiation proposal for CRM accredited specialist practice (ASP) May 17