2021 Election Results

We are incredibly pleased to welcome Cristiana Monteiro (Physiologist Rep) onto BHRS Council. Welcome back to Eleri Roberts & Joseph De Bono who have been re-elected and will serve for a second term.

Cristiana Monteiro

“I am a Highly Specialised Cardiac Physiologist and Lead for Devices and Echocardiography at the University of Oxford. Prior to this, I was a full time physiologist at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, an organisation which supported me through my specialist training, helping me achieve BHRS, IBHRE and EHRA certifications in cardiac rhythm management.

Alongside this role, I also supported device clinics at the Barts Heart Centre in London, which quickly became a second home.

My passion for research, heart failure and improving patient care brought me to Oxford University. Working within a proactive team of research nurses, heart failure and device specialists is certainly a motive of pride and it is a perfect example of the quality of personalised care I have always aspired to provide. I am in a lucky position to be able to witness technology being developed and tested first hand.

Education is an area I am extremely fond of, having been involved in the delivery of training throughout my career – from clinic supervision, to exam preparation sessions and by collaborating in the creation of the BHRS certification exam. Additionally, I collaborate with Arrhythmia Alliance in the creation of patient resources. The opportunity of joining BHRS would see me do my absolute best to support the cardiac science workforce, via education and staff retention strategies, involvement in policymaking, and an open-minded approach to shared learning and best practice.”